Otter.ai vs EchoPilot
Otter.ai ends at the transcript and a summary. EchoPilot records on the devices you own, with no bot in the call, and finishes at a task you approved.
- Minutes, transcript, Ask and approved actions
- Mobile, desktop and web
Why EchoPilot
- A weekly meeting is a series, not a pile. Its meetings sit together with the tasks still open across them, and one question is answered across all of them.
- A meeting recorded in pieces merges into one set of minutes, each part keeping its own audio, and the phone opens and records with no connection at all.
- Every meeting counts, not just the scheduled calls. A phone on the table records the room as naturally as the desktop app records a video call, and an Apple Watch catches the conversation you would not have got your phone out for.
- Nothing joins the call. No bot to invite and no extra device to buy.
- Four-hour recordings on the $11.99 plan, not on a business tier.
- The commitments become work. One card per commitment, one destination already chosen, nothing sent until you approve it, in Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams or Mail.
- One price for one person, across phone, watch, Mac, Windows and web. No seats to count.
What EchoPilot does not do
- EchoPilot transcribes after the recording rather than live on screen while the meeting runs. The minutes, transcript and cards arrive when you stop.
- A team uses EchoPilot through a Company plan set up with our team, not a self-serve signup, and there is no single sign-on.
- Approved actions route to task managers, calendars, notes and messaging rather than into a CRM or an issue tracker.
Also compared: Pocket vs EchoPilot, Plaud vs EchoPilot, Notta vs EchoPilot, Fireflies.ai vs EchoPilot, Fathom vs EchoPilot, Granola vs EchoPilot, tl;dv vs EchoPilot
Every capability, side by side.
| Capability | EchoPilot | Otter.ai |
|---|---|---|
| Where it runs | iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web, Apple Watch | iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web, Chrome |
| Extra hardware needed | No | No |
| How it captures | Your phone in the room, your own Mac or PC for a call, plus Apple Watch | An agent that joins the call, or desktop, mobile and Chrome recording |
| A bot in the participant list | Never | Optional: the agent joins the call |
| Longest single recording | 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free | 90 minutes on Pro; 4 hours on Business |
| Live transcription while the meeting runs | No: the transcript arrives after the recording | Yes |
| Speaker labels in the transcript | Per-meeting labels you rename or merge; otherwise honestly unattributed | Speaker recognition |
| Minutes: title, summary, notes, key points, action items | Yes, with a content-based title and timestamps on every point | Summaries, mind maps and action items |
| Correct a misheard line, then rebuild | Yes, with the original kept as evidence | Yes, transcript editing |
| Ask questions across your recordings | Yes: read-only, with cited timestamps | Otter AI Chat |
| Approved actions pushed into your task apps | Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams, Mail | Asana, Jira, Notion, Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot and more |
| Nothing leaves the app until you approve it | Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation | Not stated |
| A recurring meeting kept as a series | Yes: the meetings of one recurring calendar event form a series by themselves, with the tasks still open across them and Ask across all of them | Not stated |
| Meetings recorded in pieces, merged into one | Yes: two to six recordings within seven days become one set of minutes, each part keeping its own audio; 60 minutes in total on Free, 4 hours on Pro | Not stated |
| Opens and records with no connection | Yes, on the phone once signed in; the recording uploads itself later | Not stated |
| Doctor visit and real estate notes | Yes: every medicine, dose, offer and follow-up tied to the moment it was said, chosen by itself or set as your default on any device | Not stated |
| Price | Free includes 300 meeting minutes in the first 30 days, then 120 every 30 days. Pro is $11.99/month or $89/year. One person, not per seat. | Free tier of 300 minutes a month. Pro $16.99/user/month, or $8.33 billed annually. Business $30, or $19.99 billed annually |
Otter.ai details reflect Otter.ai's published information as of 10 October 2026, and list prices before promotions, excluding tax.
Otter.ai and EchoPilot, in depth.
Otter made automatic meeting transcription normal. The question worth asking is not whether transcription works. It is what you are left holding afterwards, and how many of your meetings the tool can actually reach.
Nothing joins your meeting
Otter can send an agent into a call, where it appears in the participant list and records.
EchoPilot never does. It records on the phone in the room or on your own Mac or PC, so there is nothing to invite into the call. The same pipeline handles a video call, a conversation across a table, a phone call from the car and a decision made standing in a corridor. A bot can only attend the meetings it was invited to; a phone attends all of them.
What you get back
Otter returns a transcript, summaries, mind maps and action items. EchoPilot returns a complete record and then does something with it.
Meeting Minutes arrive as a structured document: a title taken from the content, a summary, chaptered timestamped notes, key points anchored to the moment they came from, action items, your highlights, and the full transcript. Each section loads and recovers on its own.
The transcript stays connected to the audio. Search it with match counts and stepping, tap any line to hear that exact moment, rename or merge speaker turns on supported Pro meetings, and correct a misheard line without losing the original, which stays underneath as evidence while anything built on the old wording is flagged for rebuild.
Ask answers questions across one meeting, a recurring series, or everything you have recorded, citing the moment it used. It is read-only and never creates, edits or sends anything.
Action cards are the step the category stops short of. Every commitment becomes one card with one destination already chosen, sitting in a review queue. You read it, change the destination if the guess was wrong, and confirm. Only then does anything appear in Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, a calendar or a draft email. There is no setting that turns that review off. Otter’s published pages describe a broad integration list without describing a per-item review gate, so this page says “Not stated” rather than claiming an absence.
Four hours, on the entry plan
Otter’s published limits put a 90-minute ceiling on a Pro recording and four hours on Business. EchoPilot records four hours on the $11.99 plan, in the background, with the screen locked, writing audio to disk in segments as it goes so a crash costs seconds rather than the meeting. A meeting spends meeting minutes and nothing else; it never also uses one of your voice captures.
One person, one price
Otter is priced per user, from $16.99 a month on Pro. EchoPilot is $11.99 a month or $89 a year for one person, with no seats, and that one subscription covers the iPhone app, Android, the Mac and Windows capture apps, the Apple Watch companion and the web app.
If you are buying for yourself, the difference is exactly what it looks like.
Questions worth answering.
Does a bot join my meeting?
Can I search a transcript and hear that moment?
Does EchoPilot label who said what?
Record one meeting and see the difference.
Record the next conversation you would otherwise have taken notes in. You get the Meeting Minutes, a searchable transcript, answers you can ask for, and every commitment drafted as a card waiting for your approval.
Questions? support@echopilotapp.com