Comparison

Fathom vs EchoPilot

Fathom captures the scheduled video call from your desktop, with or without a bot. EchoPilot records the meeting in the room as readily as the call, on the phone and watch you carry, and ends at an approved task rather than a summary.

  • Minutes, transcript, Ask and approved actions
  • Mobile, desktop and web
At a glanceEchoPilotFathom
A bot in the participant list Never Optional: bot or bot-free, chosen per meeting
Extra hardware needed No No
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free Not stated
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated

Why EchoPilot

  • Every meeting is covered, not only the ones with a link. A conversation across a table, a phone call from the car, a decision in a corridor and a thought on the way out are recorded on the phone or the watch you already carry, through the same pipeline as a video call.
  • No bot joins the call, ever. There is no per-meeting choice to make; the recording happens on your own device, every time.
  • Every point is checkable. Key points and notes carry the moment they came from, one tap plays the sentence that produced them, and a misheard line can be corrected with the original kept underneath.
  • The output ends in your task app. One card per commitment, one destination already chosen, nothing created until you approve it.
  • One price for one person, across phone, watch, Mac, Windows and web, with action items and Ask included from the first meeting.

What EchoPilot does not do

  • EchoPilot records audio, not video, and writes the minutes when the recording ends rather than updating a summary live during the call.
  • Approved actions route to task managers, calendars, notes and messaging rather than into a CRM, and there is no Zapier connector.
  • A shared team workspace comes with a Company plan set up with our team, not a self-serve signup, and there is no single sign-on.

Also compared: Pocket vs EchoPilot, Plaud vs EchoPilot, Otter.ai vs EchoPilot, Notta vs EchoPilot, Fireflies.ai vs EchoPilot, Granola vs EchoPilot, tl;dv vs EchoPilot

Full comparison

Every capability, side by side.

Feature comparison between EchoPilot and Fathom
Capability EchoPilot Fathom
Where it runs iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web, Apple Watch Mac and Windows desktop, web. An iPhone app is described as coming soon
Extra hardware needed No No
How it captures Your phone in the room, your own Mac or PC for a call, plus Apple Watch A notetaker that joins the call, or bot-free capture from the desktop app
A bot in the participant list Never Optional: bot or bot-free, chosen per meeting
In-person conversations Yes: the same pipeline as a call, on a phone or a watch Described as coming soon with the iPhone app; today a call needs a meeting link
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free Not stated
Speaker labels in the transcript Per-meeting labels you rename or merge; otherwise honestly unattributed Speaker attribution
Minutes: title, summary, notes, key points, action items Yes, with a content-based title and timestamps on every point Summaries; AI action items on Premium
Correct a misheard line, then rebuild Yes, with the original kept as evidence Not stated
Translate the minutes 32 languages on request; 4 verified end to end and labelled Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries natively in 7
Ask questions across your recordings Yes: read-only, with cited timestamps Ask Fathom, on Premium
Approved actions pushed into your task apps Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams, Mail Slack, Notion, Asana, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated
Price Free includes 300 meeting minutes in the first 30 days, then 120 every 30 days. Pro is $11.99/month or $89/year. One person, not per seat. Free with advanced summaries for the first 5 calls a month. Premium $20/user/month, or $16 billed annually. Team $19, or $15 annually. Business $34, or $25 annually

Fathom details reflect Fathom's published information as of 17 September 2026, and list prices before promotions, excluding tax.

The longer version

Fathom and EchoPilot, in depth.

Fathom is built around the scheduled video call: it captures the meeting from your desktop, with a notetaker in the call or without one, and writes a summary. EchoPilot starts from a different question: where do your meetings actually happen? Most of them are not on a calendar, and a desktop cannot record a conversation in a room.

The client lunch. The corridor decision. The call taken from the car. The workshop where six people are in one room and nobody opened a laptop. A desktop notetaker cannot attend any of them, and Fathom’s own pages describe in-person capture as something arriving with a future iPhone app.

EchoPilot treats every one of those exactly like a video call, because the recorder is the phone in your pocket, the computer on your desk, or the watch on your wrist. Put the phone on the table and record: four hours in one capture, in the background, with the screen locked, written to disk in segments as it goes so a crash costs seconds rather than the meeting. The meeting recorder page covers what happens if the call, the app or the machine is interrupted.

No bot in the call, ever

Fathom lets you choose, meeting by meeting, between a bot in the call and bot-free capture from its desktop app. EchoPilot never sends a bot. There is no choice to make before each call: the recording happens on your own Mac or PC, from the menu bar or the tray.

What comes back, and whether you can check it

Both products produce a transcript, a summary and action items. EchoPilot’s output is built to be checked and then acted on.

Meeting Minutes come back as a titled document with a summary, chaptered timestamped notes, key points anchored to the moment they came from, action items and the full transcript. Tap any point and the recording plays from the sentence that produced it. Search the transcript with match stepping, rename or merge speaker turns on supported Pro meetings, and correct a misheard line while the original audio and text stay underneath as evidence.

Ask answers questions across one meeting, a series, or everything you have recorded, and cites the moment it used so a wrong answer is one tap from being caught. It is read-only: it never creates, edits or sends anything. Fathom’s published plans place its Ask feature and its AI action items on Premium; EchoPilot includes both on Free.

The follow-up is the product

An action item inside a summary is still work. Someone has to read it, decide where it belongs, and put it there.

EchoPilot drafts a card for each commitment with the destination already chosen, and then stops. Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, Google and Outlook calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams, Mail. You read the card, correct the destination if the guess was wrong, and confirm. Nothing is created before that, and there is no setting to turn the review off. Fathom’s published pages describe pushing to Slack, Notion, Asana and CRMs without describing a per-item approval step, so the table says “Not stated” rather than asserting an absence. The action cards page shows one for every destination.

One person, one price

Fathom’s Premium is $20 per user a month, or $16 billed annually, and its Team and Business tiers are priced per user with a two-user minimum. EchoPilot is $11.99 a month, or $89 a year, for one person, and that single subscription covers the iPhone app, Android, the Apple Watch companion, the Mac and Windows capture apps and the web app.

If you are buying for yourself, you are not buying a seat.

FAQ

Questions worth answering.

Does a bot join my meeting?
No. EchoPilot records on the phone in the room, or on your own computer for an online call. There is no meeting bot to invite and no extra recorder to buy, so it works for in-person meetings as well as calls.
How long can a meeting recording be?
Up to 60 minutes per recording on Free and up to four hours on Pro. Recording continues while the app is in the background and the screen is locked, and audio is written to disk in segments as you go, so a phone call or a crash does not lose the meeting. A meeting spends meeting minutes and nothing else; it never also uses one of your voice captures.
Does EchoPilot create tasks automatically?
No. EchoPilot drafts a card for each commitment it finds and shows you the destination it picked. Nothing is created, updated, or sent outside EchoPilot until you tap the confirmation on that card.
iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows and web

Record one meeting and see the difference.

Record the next conversation you would otherwise have taken notes in. You get the Meeting Minutes, a searchable transcript, answers you can ask for, and every commitment drafted as a card waiting for your approval.

Questions? support@echopilotapp.com