Comparison

Pocket vs EchoPilot

Pocket asks you to buy, carry and charge a second recorder. EchoPilot records on the phone and computer you already own, and turns the conversation into minutes, answers and approved actions.

  • Minutes, transcript, Ask and approved actions
  • Mobile, desktop and web
At a glanceEchoPilotPocket
Extra hardware needed No Yes: the Pocket device, from $129
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free Not stated
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated
Price Free includes 300 meeting minutes in the first 30 days, then 120 every 30 days. Pro is $11.99/month or $89/year. One person, not per seat. The device from $129, then a free tier or Pro at $19.99/month, or $199/year

Why EchoPilot

  • No hardware. The phone in your pocket, the computer on your desk and the watch on your wrist are already the recorder, with nothing extra to buy, carry or charge.
  • Video calls are captured at source. The Mac and Windows apps record your microphone and the meeting audio together, so remote participants are in the recording at full quality rather than picked up through the air.
  • The meeting ends as finished work. Every commitment becomes one card with one named destination, waiting for your approval, in Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, a calendar or a draft email.
  • Ask answers questions across every meeting you have recorded and cites the moment it came from, so a decision from three weeks ago is one question away.
  • One price for one person. $11.99 a month or $89 a year, with no device to buy first.

What EchoPilot does not do

  • EchoPilot has no dedicated hardware button. A capture starts from the app, a widget, Siri, Shortcuts, the Action Button or an Apple Watch, which means a phone or a computer has to be with you.
  • Translated minutes cover 32 languages, of which English, Arabic, Urdu and Hindi are verified end to end and the rest are offered as best effort and labelled that way.
  • Approved actions do not yet route to Linear, ClickUp, Asana or TickTick. Those destinations are in development.
Full comparison

Every capability, side by side.

Feature comparison between EchoPilot and Pocket
Capability EchoPilot Pocket
Where it runs iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web, Apple Watch iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web
Extra hardware needed No Yes: the Pocket device, from $129
How it captures Your phone in the room, your own Mac or PC for a call, plus Apple Watch Its own pocket-sized recorder, paired to the apps
Records the other side of a call from your computer Yes, on Mac and Windows Through the device's contact microphone
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free Not stated
Transcription Yes, including mixed-language speech in one recording Yes, 120+ languages
Speaker labels in the transcript Per-meeting labels you rename or merge; otherwise honestly unattributed Auto-detected speaker names, on Pro
Minutes: title, summary, notes, key points, action items Yes, with a content-based title and timestamps on every point Summaries, mind maps and action items
Ask questions across your recordings Yes: read-only, with cited timestamps Ask Pocket
Approved actions pushed into your task apps Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams, Mail Apple Reminders, Google Tasks, Todoist, TickTick, Linear, ClickUp, Asana
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated
Price Free includes 300 meeting minutes in the first 30 days, then 120 every 30 days. Pro is $11.99/month or $89/year. One person, not per seat. The device from $129, then a free tier or Pro at $19.99/month, or $199/year

Pocket details reflect Open Vision Engineering's published information as of 3 September 2026, and list prices before promotions, excluding tax.

The longer version

Pocket and EchoPilot, in depth.

Pocket and EchoPilot start from the same frustration: stop taking notes, start listening. They diverge immediately on what you have to own to get there.

One asks you to buy a recorder. The other is already in your pocket.

Pocket, from Open Vision Engineering, is a small AI recorder that starts at $129 before any subscription. The device makes the recording, and the apps are built around it.

EchoPilot runs on the hardware you already carry. The phone on the table records the room. The Mac or Windows machine you take calls on records the call, including the audio your computer is playing, so the other people are captured at source rather than through the air. An Apple Watch starts a capture from your wrist. The web app opens everything on a full screen afterwards.

That is one less thing to charge, one less thing to remember, one less thing to lose, and $129 you do not spend before you have recorded anything.

Video calls are captured properly

This is the sharpest difference in the table. EchoPilot’s Mac and Windows app records your microphone and the meeting audio your computer is playing as separate streams, so every remote participant lands in the recording at full quality. A device sitting on the desk hears a call the way you hear it, through the air and a contact microphone.

If any part of your week is video calls, that gap decides the transcript, the speaker turns and every conclusion built on top of them.

The meeting ends as work, not as a summary

Both products extract action items. EchoPilot keeps going.

Every commitment becomes a single card with one destination already chosen: a task in Todoist, Google Tasks or Microsoft To Do, a reminder, a calendar event, a page in Notion, a message in Slack, a draft email. You read it, correct the destination if the guess was wrong, and confirm. Nothing is created anywhere until you do, and there is no setting that turns that review off. Pocket’s published pages describe task integrations without describing a per-item review gate, so the table says “Not stated” rather than asserting an absence.

Then there is Ask. Questions answered across one meeting, a recurring series, or everything you have ever recorded, each answer citing the moment it came from so you can hear the sentence yourself. It is read-only by design: Ask never creates, edits or sends anything.

Languages

EchoPilot transcribes mixed-language speech inside a single recording rather than forcing one language on the whole meeting, and translates minutes into 32 languages on request. English, Arabic, Urdu and Hindi are verified end to end and labelled that way in the app; the rest are offered as best effort. Pocket states 120+ languages for transcription, so check your own languages against both if you work outside that verified set.

The one-line version

If the recording, the minutes and the follow-up all need to happen, EchoPilot does the whole job on the devices you already own, for $11.99 a month and no hardware.

FAQ

Questions worth answering.

Does a bot join my meeting?
No. EchoPilot records on the phone in the room, or on your own computer for an online call. There is no meeting bot to invite, nothing appears in the participant list, and there is no extra recorder to buy, so it works for in-person meetings as well as calls.
How long can a meeting recording be?
Up to 60 minutes per recording on Free and up to four hours on Pro. Recording continues while the app is in the background and the screen is locked, and audio is written to disk in segments as you go, so a phone call or a crash does not lose the meeting. A meeting spends meeting minutes and nothing else; it never also uses one of your voice captures.
Does EchoPilot create tasks automatically?
No. EchoPilot drafts a card for each commitment it finds and shows you the destination it picked. Nothing is created, updated, or sent outside EchoPilot until you tap the confirmation on that card.
iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows and web

Record one meeting and see the difference.

Record the next conversation you would otherwise have taken notes in. You get the Meeting Minutes, a searchable transcript, answers you can ask for, and every commitment drafted as a card waiting for your approval.

Questions? support@echopilotapp.com