Comparison

Plaud vs EchoPilot

Plaud asks you to buy a recorder before you have recorded anything. EchoPilot records on the phone, computer and watch you already own, and turns the conversation into Meeting Minutes, answers with citations and actions you approve.

  • Minutes, transcript, Ask and approved actions
  • Mobile, desktop and web
At a glanceEchoPilotPlaud
A bot in the participant list Never No
Extra hardware needed No Yes: Plaud Note or NotePin at $159, Note Pro at $189
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free Not stated; the devices quote 20 to 50 hours of recording per charge
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated

Why EchoPilot

  • No hardware. The phone in your pocket, the computer on your desk and the watch on your wrist are already the recorder, with nothing to buy, carry, charge or leave behind, and nothing to spend before you have recorded a single meeting.
  • Video calls are captured at source. The Mac and Windows apps record your microphone and the meeting audio together, without a device bound to the account first.
  • The meeting ends as finished work. Every commitment becomes one card with one named destination, waiting for your approval, in Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, a calendar or a draft email.
  • Every point is checkable. Key points and notes carry the moment they came from, one tap plays the sentence, and Ask answers questions across every recording with the moment cited.
  • One price for one person. $11.99 a month or $89 a year, with no device to buy first.

What EchoPilot does not do

  • EchoPilot has no dedicated hardware button and no wearable of its own. A capture starts from the app, a widget, Siri, Shortcuts, the Action Button or an Apple Watch, so a phone or a computer has to be with you.
  • A single recording runs up to four hours on Pro and one hour on Free; a dedicated recorder can run for a working day on one charge.
  • Translated minutes cover 32 languages, of which English, Arabic, Urdu and Hindi are verified end to end and the rest are offered as best effort and labelled that way.
  • Approved actions route to task managers, calendars, notes and messaging rather than through Zapier, and there is no MCP connector.

Also compared: Pocket vs EchoPilot, Otter.ai vs EchoPilot, Notta vs EchoPilot, Fireflies.ai vs EchoPilot, Fathom vs EchoPilot, Granola vs EchoPilot, tl;dv vs EchoPilot

Full comparison

Every capability, side by side.

Feature comparison between EchoPilot and Plaud
Capability EchoPilot Plaud
Where it runs iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web, Apple Watch The Plaud recorder, with iPhone and Android apps, web and Plaud Desktop
Extra hardware needed No Yes: Plaud Note or NotePin at $159, Note Pro at $189
How it captures Your phone in the room, your own Mac or PC for a call, plus Apple Watch The recorder in the room or on your lapel, paired to the app; the desktop app for online meetings requires a bound device
A bot in the participant list Never No
Records the other side of a call from your computer Yes, on Mac and Windows Yes, through Plaud Desktop with a bound device
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free Not stated; the devices quote 20 to 50 hours of recording per charge
Transcription Yes, including mixed-language speech in one recording Yes, 112 languages
Speaker labels in the transcript Per-meeting labels you rename or merge; otherwise honestly unattributed Speaker labels
Minutes: title, summary, notes, key points, action items Yes, with a content-based title and timestamps on every point Summaries, templates and mind maps
Correct a misheard line, then rebuild Yes, with the original kept as evidence Not stated
Ask questions across your recordings Yes: read-only, with cited timestamps Not stated
Approved actions pushed into your task apps Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams, Mail Exports in 27 formats, Zapier, and MCP for AI clients
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated
Price Free includes 300 meeting minutes in the first 30 days, then 120 every 30 days. Pro is $11.99/month or $89/year. One person, not per seat. The device from $159, then Starter free with 300 minutes a month, Pro at $17.99/month or $8.33 billed annually, Unlimited at $29.99/month or $19.99 billed annually

Plaud details reflect Plaud's published information as of 17 September 2026, and list prices before promotions, excluding tax.

The longer version

Plaud and EchoPilot, in depth.

Plaud and EchoPilot want the same thing for you: listen to the conversation, and let the notes write themselves. They part company on the first step. Plaud starts with a recorder you buy. EchoPilot starts with the devices you already own.

One asks you to buy a recorder. The other is already in your pocket.

Plaud sells the Note, the NotePin and the Note Pro, at $159 to $189, and its apps and desktop capture are built around a device bound to your account. The recorder makes the recording; the subscription turns it into text.

EchoPilot runs on the hardware you already carry. The phone on the table records the room. The Mac or Windows machine you take calls on records the call, including the audio your computer is playing, so the other people are captured at source rather than through the air. An Apple Watch starts a capture from your wrist. The web app opens everything on a full screen afterwards.

That is one less thing to charge, one less thing to remember, one less thing to lose, and $159 you do not spend before you have recorded anything.

The recorder is not the hard part

Recording audio is the easy half. What matters is what you are holding afterwards.

Meeting Minutes come back as a titled document with a summary, chaptered timestamped notes, key points anchored to the moment they came from, action items and the full transcript. Tap any point and the recording plays from the sentence that produced it. Search the transcript with match stepping, rename or merge speaker turns on supported Pro meetings, and correct a misheard line while the original audio and text stay underneath as evidence.

Ask answers questions across one meeting, a recurring series, or everything you have recorded, and cites the moment it used. It is read-only: it never creates, edits or sends anything.

The follow-up is the product

A summary with action items in it is still work. Someone has to read it, decide where each item belongs, and put it there.

EchoPilot drafts a card for each commitment with the destination already chosen, and then stops. Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, Google and Outlook calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams, Mail. You read the card, correct the destination if the guess was wrong, and confirm. Nothing is created before that, and there is no setting to turn the review off. Plaud’s published pages describe exports, Zapier and MCP connections without describing a per-item approval step, so the table says “Not stated” rather than asserting an absence. The action cards page shows one for every destination.

Long meetings, without a second battery

A Plaud device quotes 20 to 50 hours of recording per charge. EchoPilot records four hours in one capture on Pro, in the background, with the screen locked, written to disk in segments as it goes so a crash costs seconds rather than the meeting. The meeting recorder page covers what happens if the call, the app or the phone is interrupted. If your day is one recording from morning to evening, the dedicated recorder has the longer battery, and the limits card above says so.

One person, one price

Plaud’s Pro plan is $17.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually, on top of the device, and Unlimited is $29.99 or $19.99. EchoPilot is $11.99 a month, or $89 a year, for one person, and that single subscription covers the iPhone app, Android, the Apple Watch companion, the Mac and Windows capture apps and the web app, with nothing to buy first.

FAQ

Questions worth answering.

Does a bot join my meeting?
No. EchoPilot records on the phone in the room, or on your own computer for an online call. There is no meeting bot to invite and no extra recorder to buy, so it works for in-person meetings as well as calls.
How long can a meeting recording be?
Up to 60 minutes per recording on Free and up to four hours on Pro. Recording continues while the app is in the background and the screen is locked, and audio is written to disk in segments as you go, so a phone call or a crash does not lose the meeting. A meeting spends meeting minutes and nothing else; it never also uses one of your voice captures.
Does EchoPilot create tasks automatically?
No. EchoPilot drafts a card for each commitment it finds and shows you the destination it picked. Nothing is created, updated, or sent outside EchoPilot until you tap the confirmation on that card.
iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows and web

Record one meeting and see the difference.

Record the next conversation you would otherwise have taken notes in. You get the Meeting Minutes, a searchable transcript, answers you can ask for, and every commitment drafted as a card waiting for your approval.

Questions? support@echopilotapp.com